School Council



At Barrow Hall we believe that the children should be involved in the development of the school and that they have a “voice”. We also believe that by giving them responsibility, we are helping towards their personal development.

Involving the children in important decision-making that would directly affect them, means they feel we value their opinion and they are happier with the final decision.

The School Council is, perhaps, the most formal example of the “democracy in action” approach we adopt with the children.

Barrow Hall has formed a School Council which is made up of elected class representatives from Years 2 to 6. The School Council meets regularly to discuss items suggested by the class council meetings, and this covers a wide range of subjects.

The Council produces minutes at each meeting and any decisions made are fed back to the rest of the school. The Council also meets regularly with the Headteacher to discuss any subjects which need his advice.

Welcome from the chair of the School Council

My name is Oliver Bate and I was very pleased to be voted Chairman of the School Council for what will be my last year at Barrow Hall before I move to High School.

I aim to help make the school a better place by helping others when they need it and to uphold our school motto “to feel secure, valued and to learn”. I will keep parents and children informed of our work throughout the year. If there is anything that you want me to know, please email the school at, marking the email ‘FAO School Council’.

Oliver Bate – Chair of School Council 2016-17

School Councillors 2016-7

3J    Dan Gierl
3J    Millie Kullu
3S    Darcey Ellliot
3S    Harry Skelton
3L    Jessica Ellison
3L    Jamie Eves
4C    Lottie Pownall
4C    Lewis James
4S    Matthew Tatham
4S    Evie Ireland
4M    Ewan Smith
4M    Bee Carter-Woodburn
5W    Megan Akrill
5W    Rebecca Dixon
5M    Lucy Bonus
5M    Mollie Fearon
5C    Megan Allcock
5C    Harry Johnson
6R    Amber Price
6R    Sophie Weston
6F    Harvey Dunbabin
6F    Hariette Brabin
6M    Millie Stephenson
6M    Oliver Bate